WHAT IF?

What if the roles were reversed? And I had to had to walk up to you first, and still try to convince you that I am different. To be different.

What if the roles were reversed,and I had to tell you how I felt about you. Cramming poems and rehearsing my conversation with you over and over again in my head, replying every question I assume you would ask.
What if the roles were reversed? And I had to spend late nights stalking your social media pages to know about you. Because I was scared you would find me irritating if I asked questions.
What if the roles were reversed? And I had to be the one to want to crawl my fingers, in slow motion on the car seat across to where yours are, to hold your hands. To give you a squeeze of assurance.
What if the roles were reversed? And I had to be the one to take the first step to tell you how I felt about you. How much you’ve changed my life in a way I cannot fathom. How much you make me feel like the person I should be. And that because of you, my smiles are a bit wider, laughs a bit louder, jumps a lot higher, dance moves a lot more hippy, style more expressive.
That you’re like a god to me. Half god.
What if the roles were reversed? And I had to kneel in front of you and ask you stay with me forever. Early mornings waking up right next to you, late nights snuggling into your arms, afternoons texting short pieces of romance. Vacations touring the world, holidays spent in bed.
What if I wanted more than what the roles created? What if I reverse it? What if I want to shift paridgms and change norms for you?
What if I could do all these for you?

2 thoughts on “WHAT IF?

Leave a Reply

