My House Hunt Wahala

images
Who said being an adult was any fun and exciting?
I feel like I’ve been betrayed after being told about all the beauty and freedom of expression that comes with adulthood.

Such a fraud!

And what’s even more fraudulent was the way I was cheated by one who claimed to be a house agent. He boasted about how he had helped people find their dream homes on short notice. I decided to trust him.

He demanded a non-refundable inspection fee of 5,000 Naira, as he explained that he might need to settle some people before we would be able to check out some of those places, and an additional 2,000 Naira each for every apartment we checked. I paid that instant. I could do anything just to guarantee that our search would be fruitful, to enable me finalize the formalities and move in as quickly as possible.

“The place is very nice Ma, well tiled, and very secure” he said. I smiled as those words from him already gave me confidence.
On getting there, I got the biggest shock of my life. It was an uncompleted building! It looked like it had been abandoned for a while. The floor was bare, with no tiles fixed of course, they were no doors, and yes, no windows fixed in place. The walls were barely plastered with cement, no painting at all.
I was so disappointed. No apology whatsoever.

I was beyond annoyed. I didn’t know what was more annoying, the fact that my day had just been wasted and still no hope, or the money he requested for.

On leaving the site, I opened my Twitter app on my phone to rant, as that’s my go-to-site to steam off anger. Scrolling down my timeline I saw a retweet by someone concerning Tolet.com.ng, which is an online platform for property listings. I decided to go to their page, and check out their website which was on their bio.  It was a dream come true.

They had different options to choose from. From cozy yet spacious one bedrooms to duplex all for rent. To even think that the prices were reasonably affordable. So that meant that I didn’t have to bother myself about incompetent house agents, as Tolet.com.ng had assured me of the transpency and professionalism of the house agents available. Now to the most exceptional feature, it gives a percentage of features of the apartment such as water, security, sanitation, e.t.c. And it was all at my fingers tips! Who says you can’t get your dream home when we have Tolet.com.ng?

One thought on “My House Hunt Wahala

  1. Pingback: My House Hunt Wahala – Inmeforyou

Leave a Reply

